Arnold Whitworth Trophy

February 6th saw the annual
snooker match against Lytham Yacht Club for the Arnold Whitworth
This is a long standing fixture. Played
on an annual basis with the tally of wins very close between the
clubs. Last year’s match played at Lytham saw a narrow defeat by
three matches to two.
Wev were therefore pleased to get off
to a strong start with Sid Drummond and Peter Mitcham winning 58 to
17 aginst D Guyer and R Slater. Sid now seems to have finally lost
his run of years unable to win in this fixture.
The second match saw Bob Davies and
Paul Friberg record a 65 to 12 win against S Coupe and G Thompson.
This was followed by the closest match of all which saw Jon Palser
and Roy Champken just get through by 48 to 39 against M Bradshaw and
T Stuttard.
After this the two final matches also
went in our favour with Joe Cross and Barry Bagot beating T Batho and
A Wilson by 68 to 30, and finally President John Sharples, playing
with Vice President, Steve Denny, beating J Lord and M Rudd by 69 to


An exceptional if unusual result with a win by 5
matches to Nil to recover the trophy.